Menu toggle
New Travel Rules: What Are Red List Countries?

New Travel Rules: What Are Red List Countries?

The "traffic light system" of red, amber and green list countries has also been scrapped - now there's just red list countries and the rest of the world.

What Are The New Travel Rules?

Fully vaccinated travellers arriving from non-red list countries no longer have to take a PCR or lateral flow test before setting off for the UK.

This includes people vaccinated in the UK, the EU, the US, or 18 other recognised countries.

You must be able to prove that you are fully vaccinated.

Everyone under 18 - and resident in one of these countries - can also travel to the UK without taking a pre-departure test, whether or not they've been vaccinated.

All travellers - except children under five years old - still have to book and pay for a PCR test two days after arrival.

The government says you should book this test before you travel.

You will also need to complete a passenger locator form.

What If I'm Unvaccinated?

If you are not fully vaccinated - and you're 18 or over - you still need to take a PCR or lateral flow/antigen test (not a free NHS test) within three days before returning to the UK.

You also need to take a test on or before day two and on or after day eight after your return.

You must also self-isolate at home for 10 days after arrival in the UK.

Test to Release will remain an option for unvaccinated passengers to England who want to shorten quarantine.

What Else Is Changing In England?

From the end of October, the government says that people coming to England may no longer have to take a PCR test two days after arrival.

Instead, they'll be able to take a cheaper and simpler lateral flow test.

It's hoped this change will happen in time for people returning from school half-term breaks.

As yet, no other UK nation has said it will follow suit in this.

Scotland says it will "align with the UK post-arrival testing regime" but has not announced further details.

The Welsh government said it had "concerns" about easing its testing regime.

What Are The Red List Rules?

Red-list countries are those the UK government says should not be visited "except in the most extreme of circumstances".

There are currently 54 countries on the red list, including Brazil, South Africa and Thailand.

If you have been in one in the last 10 days, you can only enter the UK if you are a UK or Irish national, or UK resident.

Whatever your vaccination status, you need to:

  • Take a Covid-19 test before departure.

  • Complete a passenger locator form.

  • Self-isolate for 10 days in a quarantine hotel, paid in advance.

Rates for quarantine hotels are:

  • 10 days (11 nights) for one adult, £2,285.

  • Additional adult (age 12+), £1,430.

  • Children aged five to 11, £325.

Can I Visit The US?

From November, fully vaccinated UK passengers will be able to travel to the US.

This should include people who've had the AstraZeneca jab, although the US Center for Disease Control and Prevention has yet to make a final decision.

Visitors will need to take part in testing and contact tracing.

At present, only US citizens, residents and foreigners with special visas can enter from most European countries.

Share this article:

Subscribe to newsletter


Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up here and get the latest news and updates delivered directly to your inbox

You can unsubscribe at any time